Apples NEW Phone

Okay so You may have heard the news. Apple as released a phone that can save the world, cure cancer, fix global warming, and find me a decent guy! No joke!  The new Iphone five can answer such questions like “Do I need an umbrella today?” and “Where can I find a new Vera Wang bag?”.  This new emerging media means new waters need to be explored for marketers. For instance if you ask this phone “Which is better Coke or Pepsi?” I wonder what it would respond?  With this new type of voice responsive software available, the market must be booming with excitement. What’s the phone going to be like? Who’s it’s competitor going to be? All I know it, It will still be toooo expensive for this graduate student to afford!

“As soon as Apple unveils its highly anticipated new version of the iPhone on Tuesday, millions of people are likely to start plotting how to be among the first to buy it. But millions more may be considering a competitor — an Android phone.

Despite all the hoopla surrounding the Apple announcement, more people buy smartphones running Google’s Android operating system than buy Apple phones. Android’s share of new smartphone sales is now more than double Apple’s share, a striking change from a year ago, when the two were roughly even, and a reflection of how Android phones have improved and become more broadly available.”

Gongloff, Mark. “Apple: Here Come the New iPhones – MarketBeat – WSJ.” WSJ Blogs – WSJ. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 Oct. 2011. <http://blogs.wsj.com/marketbeat/2011/10/04/apple-here-come-the-new-iphones/&gt;.

 

About amandaimcwv

My name is Amanda and I am a graduate student at West Virginia University studying Integrated Marketing Communications. Over the next couple weeks, I will be blogging regarding topics in emerging media. In my spare time, I love traveling, photography, running and spending time with my dogs, Max and Lucy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment